Asia Cup 2018 final: Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni star in thriller as India win trophy


Dubai: India clinched their seventh Asia Cup trophy after beating Bangladesh by seven wickets in the final here on Friday.

After having been set a target of 223, the Men in Blue lost Shikhar Dhawan for 15 runs. However, despite Rohit Sharma fighting hard, he missed out on his 37thODI fifty as he was dismissed for 48 runs.

It was not an easy road for India from then on, as they went onto lose Dinesh Karthik (37 runs) and MS Dhoni (36 runs) while Kedar Jadhav was retired hurt after scoring 19 runs. However, Jadhav was then replaced by Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who put up a 45-run stand with Ravindra Jadeja.

In the end, Kedar Jadhav came back to bat as he scored 23 runs in the last-ball thriller.

India 160-5 after 36.1 overs

WICKET! Mustafizur Rahman strikes as he sees off MS Dhoni for 36 runs.

India 137-4 after 30.4 overs

WICKET! Dinesh Karthik is struck lbw by Mahmudullah for 37 runs.

India 83-3 after 16.4 overs

WICKET! Rubel Hossain strikes as he sees off captain Rohit Sharma for 48 runs.

India 46-2 after 7.3 overs

WICKET! Captain Mortaza strikes as he dismisses Ambati rayudu for two runs, courtesy a catch by Mushfiqur Rahim.


India 35-1 after 4.4 overs

WICKET! Nazmul Hossain strikes as he sees off Shikhar Dhawan for 15 runs courtesy a catch by Soumya Sarkar at mid-off.

Bangladesh innings

Bangladesh were bowled out for 222 runs in their Asia Cup final against India, despite a fighting effort by centurion Liton Das (121 runs).

The Men in Green got off to a flying start with the opening pair of Liton Das and Mehidy Hasan (32 runs) putting up a 120-run partnership.

However, since Mehidy’s dismissal, Bangladesh started losing consecutive wickets, including that of Mushfiqur Rahim who could just score five runs.

Soumya Sarkar too fought hard as he scored 33 runs.

The spinners did the damage for India. While Kuldeep Yadav picked up three wickets, Kedar Jadhav too got a couple of wickets to his name. Yuzvendra Chahal, too got one wicket. Jasprit Bumrah too got one wicket.

Bangladesh 213-8 after 46.4 overs

WICKET! Nazmul Islam is run-out by Manish Pandey for seven runs.

Bangladesh 196-7 after 42.5 overs

WICKET! It’s MS Dhoni at it again behind the stumps as he sees off Mashrafe Mortaza for seven runs, once again giving Kuldeep Yadav the wicket.

Bangladesh 188-6 after 41 overs

WICKET! Liton Das is stumped by MS Dhoni as he departs for 121 runs with Kuldeep Yadav celebrating his wicket.

Bangladesh 151-5 after 31.2 overs

WICKET! Kuldeep Yadav gets his first wicket as Mahmudullah departs for four runs.

Bangladesh 139-4 after 28 overs

WICKET! Mohammad Mithun is run-out as Bangladesh lose another wicket.

Bangladesh 137-3 after 26.5 overs

WICKET! Kedar Jadhav strikes as he dismisses Mushfiqur Rahim for just five runs.

Bangladesh 128-2 after 23.5 overs

WICKET! Imrul Kayes departs for two runs as he is struck leg before wicket by Yuzvendra Chahal.

Bangladesh 120-1 after 20.5 overs

WICKET! Mehidy Hasan is dismissed for 32 runs as Kedar Jadhav gives India the crucial breakthrough.

Bangladesh 70-0 after 11.1 overs

FIFTY! It’s a maiden ODI fifty for Liton Das as Bangladesh take an early control of the game.

Bangladesh 65-0 after 10 overs

Good start by Bangladesh, with Liton Das (47 runs) and Mehidy Hasan (16) at the crease.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here